Alabama House Delegation Votes To Approve Keystone Pipeline; Senate Vote Scheduled Tuesday

Alabama’s seven members of Congress last week voted to approve the Keystone XL oil pipeline and send the measure to the Senate. Reps. Robert Aderholt, R-Haleyville, Spencer Bachus, R-Vestavia Hills, Mo Brooks, R-Huntsville, Bradley Byrne, R-Fairhope, Mike Rogers, R-Saks, and Terri Sewell, D-Birmingham, all voted for the House version of the pipeline bill, which has been held up in the Senate by President Obama administration and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev.

The final vote was 252-161. Only 31 Democrats voted for the House pipeline bill, H.R. 5682, and all 161 no votes were cast by Democrats.

The Senate is scheduled to consider its Keystone pipeline bill, S. 2280, on Tuesday. The bill is subject to a 60-vote minimum in the Senate.

The U.S. House is controlled by Republicans but the Senate is controlled by 55 Democrats until January when at least 53 and possibly 54 Republicans will control the 100-member Senate.

The Keystone pipeline is a 2,151-mile transnational oil pipeline originating in Canada to deliver crude oil to Midwest and Texas oil refineries. The pipeline has been held up by the Obama administration for various reasons.

-Dana Beyerle